Coming Out

Coming out as an alcoholic is a scary thing. I’m still not really comfortable with the label. It doesn’t feel like me. For so long, I focused on my husband’s drinking, and just considered myself a joiner. I could quit anytime, I was only drinking because he did, and so on. I spent five years pretending to everyone around me that my husband didn’t have a drinking problem, and the same amount of time pretending to myself that I didn’t have one. When the husband went to treatment, I treated that as a sort of new beginning too. I stopped drinking, I joined in on groups with him, I did counseling with him, I read the literature. But when I talked to my parents, I didn’t tell them we had a drinking problem, I told them the husband went to rehab, and I quit drinking with him. My parents though, were way more observant than I gave them credit for. They looked and me, and gave me giant hugs, and told me how proud they were of both of us, of me. My dad talked about how worried he’d been about our drinking, how he hoped that meant they’d see more of us. A few weeks later, he looked at my face, and talked about how he could really see a difference, how much healthier and happier I already looked. When I told my sister, who’d stopped drinking about a year before, it went the same. The more I came out to other people about my sobriety, the more I admitted to myself that maybe I had a drinking problem. And the fact that they were so supportive, the fact that they stopped drinking around us and made a point to touch base and give encouragement, made me more comfortable talking about it. I built up such a stigma around it that I was sure it was going to be a big deal for other people. But most people were either really excited or acted like it was nothing. Not one person was shocked or appalled, which is what I was expecting for some reason. I started getting really comfortable with it. When alcohol would come up, I could casually say “oh, I don’t drink”. And I didn’t feel embarrassed, and no one stared at me like a freak, and not so shockingly, life went on like normal. The new, better normal that has come with sobriety. I’m still not in a place where I can really think of myself as an alcoholic, or say I am one, but I am very comfortable saying I’m sober, and that’s a start.

4 thoughts on “Coming Out

  1. This was really great to read. I haven’t spoken a word about my sobriety to anyone in my life because I cringe hard enough just imagining how others might react. I love that you’ve had such a smooth, positive experience; that’s really encouraging.

    Unrelated, but I really like the font on your blog. 🙂

    Like

    1. I was mortified to share with anyone. I imagined the judgement, and the shame… but most of that seems to have belonged to me. I hope that when you’re ready to open up, you are pleasantly surprised by the people around you.

      as to the font, it’s whatever the default font is 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am just starting to tell people I am sober and am still at the stage of making excuses “It’s because of this new medication I am on”. Maybe I need to be a bit braver and see what comes back from that? Well done x x

    Like

    1. I definitely took baby steps. When I talked to my parents, I asked that they not tell anyone else. I wasn’t sure I wanted people to know. But each positive reaction, each supportive friend or family member makes me want to share a little more. There have been some negative nellies here and there, but most of them are in the midst of their own drinking issues, and I try to remember that clouds every part of their life. I hope you feel comfortable enough to open up to a few people, and let them surprise you.

      Like

Leave a comment